San Luis Obispo County Community College District
Established: 1963
Cuesta College is located at the heart of scenic San Luis Obispo County, and is highly regarded throughout the state for its excellent education programs, responsive student services and exceptional faculty and staff. Cuesta College offers classes at the main campus in San Luis Obispo, the North County Campus in Paso Robles, and the South County Center in Arroyo Grande.

Western Association of Schools and College

Instructional Programs
Lower division academic transfer courses, career technical education, short courses, continuing education, distance education, day and evening classes.


69 Degree Programs:

26 Associate of Art degrees

16 Associate in Arts for Transfer degrees

21 Associate of Science degrees

6 Associate of Science for Transfer degree

58 Certificate Programs:

19 Certificates of Achievement

36 Certificates of Specialization

3 Certificates of Completion


Student Services
Academic and career technical education counseling, children's center, student newspaper, art gallery, student radio station, Disabled Student Programs and Services (DSPS), Extended Opportunity Programs and Services EOPS/CARE, financial aid, health center, Hollister Adobe Museum, learning skills, library learning resources, student development, transfer/career center, athletics and tutoring center.

Community Programs
Community education classes, online not-for-credit classes, special events, writer’s conference, College for Kids, 4th grade camp, sports camps, sports leagues, aquatics and fitness classes.


Total General Fund Budget

2014-2015: $61.7 million


Spring 2015

Total: 9576
San Luis Obispo: 6850
North County: 2119
South County: 684
Distance: 2296

Faculty and Staff 

Spring 2015

Full-time faculty: 161
Part-time faculty: 406
Classified staff: 242
Managers, administrators, supervisors and confidentials: 42

Board of Trustees, 2015

President: Patrick Mullen
Vice President: Angela Mitchell
Trustee: Pete Sysak
Trustee: Dick Hitchman
Trustee: Dr. Barbara George
Student Trustee: Scott Chedester


Dr. Gilbert H. Stork

Assistant Superintendents/Vice Presidents

Student Services: Sandee McLaughlin
Administrative Services: Chris Green (interim)
Academic Affairs: Dr. Deborah Wulff

Executive Directors

Human Resources/Labor Relations: Melissa Richerson
Foundation/Advancement: Shannon Hill


Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences: Dr. Pamela Ralston
Academic Affairs, Mathematics and Sciences: Dr. Jason Curtis
Workforce and Economic Development: Dr. John Cascamo
Executive Dean North County Campus and South County Center: Dr. Maria Escobedo
Student Services: Catherine Machado (interim)