Cuesta College Foundation will host a reception for the Cuesta College 2012 Volunteer Award recipients from 2 to 4 p.m. on Thursday, April 19, in the Associated Students Auditorium, Room 5401. The public is invited.

Three community members and a trio of students will be recognized for their invaluable service and commitment to the college. Cuesta Superintendent-President Gil Stork will act as master of ceremonies.

Roxanne Carr will receive the J. Vard Loomis for Distinguished Board Service Award, which recognizes the special dedication of members of the Cuesta College Foundation Board of Directors and/or the Cuesta College Board of Trustees. Carr, senior adviser with The Mortgage House Inc., has served on the Foundation board since 2004 and is its vice president of alumni relations. The licensed real estate broker served many years on the board of directors for the UCSB San Luis Obispo County Economic Forecast and advocates for the underserved via various community organizations.

Steve Ripple volunteers 10 hours a week in the math labs at the college’s San Luis Obispo and North County campuses. He will receive the Betty Nielsen Volunteer of the Year Award in memory of the college trustee known for her exemplary volunteer service. Ripple had a successful career as a medical textbook copy editor.

Becca Ponce is a student who volunteers locally and internationally to provide no- and low-cost medical care and supplies. She dedicates time to The SLO Noor Foundation Free Clinic and Doc2Dock. She will receive the John Schaub Student Volunteer Award given to a student whose community volunteer work best exemplifies the high standards established by the college’s first dean of students.

The Merlin E. Eisenbise Service in the Classroom Award will go to Ronald Whisenand, a Cuesta volunteer since 2005. He is a regular visitor to the Architecture 201 classroom where he shares with students what city planners do and the types of projects and issues he deals with when completing community projects. The award recognizes direct service in the classroom in honor of the district’s first superintendent-president, Dr. Merlin E Eisebise.

Two students will receive the Outstanding Student Citizen Award. Monty Dodge Jr., a mechanical engineering student, is president of the Cuesta chapter of Alpha Gamma Sigma honor society. He formed the Chemistry Club and Physics Club, and volunteers in the Tutorial Center. Dodge also serves as a Student Ambassador. Jake Odello, finance director for the Associated Students of Cuesta College, belongs to several campus committees and participates in accreditation workshops. He recently held a forum to update students on state and college budget issues.

Released April 16, 2012