In keeping with its mission to promote and recognize academic excellence, Alpha Gamma Sigma, Cuesta College’s academic honor society and service organization, honored 10 instructors for going above and beyond expectations and influencing students’ academic success at the third annual Teacher Appreciation Night on Dec. 3.

The instructors were nominated by AGS members and selected by AGS Executive Cabinet officers. At the event, the AGS members spoke about how the instructors provide great value to the college, and the instructors had a chance to thank their students.

“We are honoring these faculty for their exceptional work and dedication toward building our community here at Cuesta College,” said AGS President Bradford Jungers.

“There’s no greater honor for faculty than to be recognized by their students,” said Superintendent/President Gil Stork. “What these AGS students are really doing is reaffirming the influence and impact that teachers have on student success.”

The award recipients, who have taught at the college up to 35 years, are:

  • Praveen Babu, chemistry, seven years
  • Lisha Duarte, Spanish, eight years
  • Brian Kreowski, political science, 17 years
  • Elizabeth Lobo, microbiology and anatomy, two years
  • Ann Maliszewski, physiology, 10 years
  • Jodi Meyer, math, 12 years
  • Christopher Nielsen, political science, one year
  • Aaron Rodrigues, political science, 22 years
  • Ron Ruppert, biology, 35 years
  • Joe Vasta, math, 12 years

The 10 faculty members were also recognized for their excellence by the offices of Congresswoman Lois Capps and Assemblyman Katcho Achadjian.

Lauren Milbourne / (805) 546-3108 / / Posted: 12/12/13